Rich Orange Cake

I had shared an Orange cake recipe when I started the blog some 4 years ago. It was good, but not orange enough. I don’t remember making it again in the subsequent years, even though I made it quite a few times that year. This year, again, I looked for an orange cake recipe, and found another one.

This one results in a richer and more denser texture and a deep orange flavor. I dusted the orange cake with icing sugar, but an orange glaze will elevate the cake to newer heights. I also find this cake a bit less sweet, so I might increase the sugar content, specially if I am not going to dust with icing sugar or pour some orange glaze over it.

This recipe yeilds batter a bit more than the normal 7 – 8 inch round cake tin, therefore I used it to make a few cupcakes. The height of the cupcake depends on the amount of batter, mine were low as I poured less in the cupcakes.

I might try making it with milk or some other juice instead of range juice. 4 – 5 oranges yield 1 cup orange juice. 1 orange yields around 1 tsp of powdered dried orange zest.

Recipe

Ingredients

1/2 cup oil
1 cup sugar
3 eggs
2 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 cup orange juice
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp orange zest

Method

Preheat oven to 350F / 180C. In a bowl, beat oil and sugar together. Beat in eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition.

Sift flour and baking powder together. Add flour into the egg mixture and mix well. Add the orange juice and fold it in. Beat for a minute or so after the orange juice is incorporated in the batter, otherwise orange juice tends to make a mess.

Pour in a greased baking pan and bake for 40 – 45 minutes. Cupcakes take less time to bake. Check after 30 minutes. The cake is ready when a skewer inserted comes out clean. Dust with icing sugar or pour orange glaze and serve warm.

Leave a Reply

